Poetry Challenge, Day 1

First of all, this is not an April Fool’s Day joke.

April is National Poetry Month. I consider myself a poet. And poetry lover. Last November, I thoroughly enjoyed writing a poem a day with my friend, Kevin. I finished that exercise looking forward to the next time I could make it happen.

So, I’ve decided to write or read a poem a day, everyday this month. To spice it up a bit, I’ve challenged my students to do the same. I’m bribing them with candy (no points toward class), but it’s mostly for the love of poetry.

My first poem is actually a collection of Book Spine Poems I read on Travis Jonker’s blog. It’s a novel idea and one I hope to incorporate into my class this month. My favorite from the group is Bri’s poem below.
Bri-Poem-I
It even has my initials in the photo (upper left corner).
I can relate to the exquisite charm of words. Thanks, Bri, whoever you are.

One thought on “Poetry Challenge, Day 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *