That Poem I Promised You

Let me preface this poem with a bit of an explanation. A couple blog entries ago, I wrote about my time in South Dakota at the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation. It was a powerful, moving experience that, like many important moments in my life, I needed some extra time to more fully reflect upon. A few days ago, this poem popped out of my head/heart/hand in the wee hours of the day. It might be about my experience in a sweat lodge from South Dakota (read more about what that is in my July 23rd entry). Or it might be about being born. Or it could be about being re-born. Or maybe it’s about all those things.

“If I Had Words”

One thought on “That Poem I Promised You

  1. Hey Mr. Kabodian! It was cool to read about your experiences on the reservation, not only because it’s really interesting but because my brother spent all of this summer on the rez with YouthWorks. He’s told me a lot about the experiences he had and it was great hearing about someone else’s experiences as well. Hope your school year is going great so far! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *