I woke up with an idea for a poem

Here’s a draft of yet another rhyming poem; maybe I’m a songwriter and I didn’t know it.

It’s My Addiction, Leave Me Alone

There once was a time
I can still recall
When I didn’t
Need it at all.

I lived a normal,
Public life.
Didn’t crave
My tobacco knife.

Now I can’t stop
I need a stab
Makes perfect sense,
Can’t you understand?

I crave my knife
When I get up,
Just like you
Crave your cup.

There are things
That we all need.
They hurt us, though
We don’t bleed.

Yours is accepted,
Yours is “good.”
When I take a stab
I feel as I should.

It keeps me able,
It keeps me sane.
With my tobacco knife
There is no pain.

So, don’t be a hypocrite.
Don’t want to hear you moan.
It’s my addiction,
Leave me alone.

I said,
It’s my addiction,
Leave me alone.

P.S. Aaron is about to leave Texas. Here’s a link to the map of his progress. Will he slip into Oklahoma briefly or will he dive directly into Arkansas? Only he knows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *