Something’s spreading (like manure in a field)

(note: refresh the page if the videos don’t load)

As usual, Rachel Maddow put it best in her show recently. I wouldn’t feature her twice in a row unless it was the best way to get across my point. Take a few minutes and listen to her argument.

Visit msnbc.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

I do realize that manure helps things grow. And Snyder’s manure will probably do that, too. The things that will grow, though, are not what American/Michigan/East Lansing needs (or that I need): huge stalks of Government control of schools and cities will grow (doesn’t sound very Republican…unless fascism is now a part of the party); many shoots of anger, resentment, government distrust, and uncertainty will surface; and too many sprouts of negativity towards teachers to rear their ugly head, despite the responsibilities we are given (check out this cartoon).

The pendulum has swung back again, but we should have seen it coming; the Mackinac Center has been spewing garbage for a long time and we need to look behind their facade and stop buying the crap that propels them forward…like Walmart and Amway (read this article).

And, yet again, I need to balance all of this manure-spreading with a bit of light.
Here’s one of the most inspirational talks/poems/lectures I’ve seen…maybe ever; it was recommended to me, yet again, by my daughter, Rachel…who really knows her stuff.

(this is also my second TED video suggestion in a row)

And

(in that same vane of spoken word poetry) if you haven’t heard Taylor Mali before or lately, here’s a dose of teacherlove

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *